Export references from FiNDit, databases, or Google Scholar to your EndNote library:
It is recommended that you use Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, or Microsoft Edge when exporting to EndNote. Mac users should not use Safari.
Exporting to EndNote options are different from database to database. Look for links on the article page in the database that say Export, Export Citation, Share, Share Citation, Cite, or Citation tools etc.
Once references are in your EndNote library, they MUST be checked against the University Referencing Guides for errors. References do not always import perfectly from any source.
1. To export individual records to Endnote select the black Endnote shortcut at the top right of the item record, make sure EndNote RIS is highlighted, then select download.
A download notification will appear on your screen. Click Open in your browser's download notification. This will open your EndNote library and insert your reference(s) automatically.
2. To export multiple records select the box that appears next to the item record. Selections will be highlighted in gold. You can also select a whole page of results using the checkbox that appears at the top of the page before the first item record.
3. Then select the Pin icon that appears above the list of results on the right hand side of the page to save all selected items.
4. Make sure you’re logged in to FiNDit and that your name displays in the top right hand corner. Navigate to your favourites, using the pin icon or the dropdown menu.
5. Select the items you wish to export, click the ellipsis (3 dots) and then the Endnote (RIS) icon. Select ‘download’, you will see a download notification as per Step 2.
1. If you have linked through to an individual article, you can add the citation from the article record by choosing Export from the right panel:
2. If you have come up with multiple items you wish to cite in your results list, click the blue folder icon beside the article title to add your selections to your folder (this is a temporary save).
3. Click Folder at the top of the window to see your saved results; Select those you want to export (or tick the Select all box) and click the Export icon.
4. For exports of either individual citation or multiple citations, you will see the box below pop up with Direct Export in RIS format checked as the default (EndNote is listed as one of the products that exports in RIS files format).
5. Note: If needing all results (as when performing Systematic Review searches), instead of selecting individual references, you will click on the Share link that appears at the top right of the results page, and choose to email the zip of all references to your email address.
1. Click the box next to each desired reference in your result list (unless you need All Results for a Systematic Review - in which case, don't tick any boxes).
2. Click the Send to option at the top of the result list.
3. Choose Citation manager from the dropdown list.
4. Choose Selection (for a few ticked results) or All Results (if needing the full results of the research).
5. Click Create file. The .nbib file will appear in your browser downloads.
6. Double-click the .nbib file to automatically import into your EndNote Library.
To use Google Scholar to maximum advantage, you may set it up to access the full text of articles from the university’s databases, and set your EndNote export preferences:
1. On the Google Scholar homepage, click the Menu ‘hamburger’ 
and click the Settings cog 
2. Select Library links, and type The University of Notre Dame Australia (and the National Library of Australia if you choose) and click Save.
3. Return to the Settings page by clicking the hamburger icon and Settings cog. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to Bibliography Manager and select EndNote from the dropdown box. Click Save.
4. After searching, you will now see the option to Findit@NDA or Full View beside the article title, which will give you access to the article in full text (if you are off campus you will be prompted to login to access our databases).
5. To export a citation to your EndNote library, click Import into EndNote at the bottom of the record. You can then double-click the downloaded .enw file to import the reference into EndNote.
6. Note – to save multiple citations, log in to your Google account, and use the star icon to mark your chosen citations. Then click on My Library at the top right of the screen, and Export All.
IMPORTANT: Google Scholar citations often export with errors or omissions in referencing format. You MUST check the imported reference in your EndNote library and edit if necessary.
EndNote Click, formerly known as Kopernio, is a browser plug-in that enables export of citations and PDFs at the same time.
1. Add the EndNote Click extension to your browser.
2. You'll be prompted to create an EndNote Click account
3. In the Settings area of your account, you will be prompted to select the institution you are associated with. Select University of Notre Dame Australia from the list.
4. Select a database for browser integration (Google Scholar, PubMed, or Web of Science)
5. From now on, when you search that database and select an article, an EndNote Click icon will appear. 
6. When you select this icon, you will be directed to ways you can download both the citation and the accompanying PDF file to your EndNote Library.
Most of your references can be imported from databases. However you may need to manually add a reference, eg for a website.
To create a new reference manually: Click on the New Reference icon at the top of your EndNote Library: 
Please follow the below steps to find and remove duplicates from your EndNote library. This method is safer than just deleting the records from your EndNote library.
EndNote has the ability to search for full text articles which you have access to through Notre Dame's library subscriptions and/or that are freely available on the Internet to attach to your existing references. When EndNote locates a copy of an article, it automatically downloads and attaches the PDF the corresponding EndNote record.
To set up your EndNote Library so that it can search for full text within the Notre Dame online collections and attach PDFs to your EndNote references, you will need to edit your EndNote preferences as follows.
(Note you need to be running at least EndNote 20.3 for these OpenURL settings to work, and there is a known issue retrieving full text from Wiley, JStor, and ScienceDirect).
5. In Preferences, select URLs & Links. Add the following link to the field OpenURL Arguments:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nd.edu.au?url=
6. Click on Apply, then OK.
To find the full text for references in your EndNote Library^:
on the toolbar, or click References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text.^ Note that this function is most reliable if the article has a DOI.
There are three main ways to add PDFs to your Endnote Library.
1. Save the article PDF to your desktop or a folder on your computer.
From the desktop: highlight the relevant EndNote reference and drag and drop the PDF icon into the reference (this is easiest done with the desktop on show and your EndNote library window minimised)
From a folder: highlight the relevant EndNote reference, and while in your EndNote library click References > File Attachments > Attach File. Browse your folders for the PDF and then double click to attach it to the reference.
2. Use the Find Full Text feature
3. Use EndNote Click.
If you use EndNote for multiple assignments or are working with chapters for a thesis, groups can be a very useful way to manage your citations. Group Sets are like "folders" and Groups are like "sub-folders".
Groups:
Create a Group by going to Groups on the EndNote toolbar, choose Create Group and name accordingly. You can then drag and drop selected citations into this group as needed.
OR
Select (Ctrl click) References you want to put in a group.
Go to Groups – Add references to - Create Custom Group. You can rename this to something meaningful.
Groups can be deleted any time if you wish - references will stay in the All References library. Avoid deleting the individual citations as this may unintentionally corrupt any related documents.
Group Sets:
To create a hierarchy of groups, you can use a Group Set (see example below). Find the Group Set option in the Groups menu, name it accordingly and start creating Groups under it. If you have existing Groups you would like to add to a Group Set, just drag and drop your Group name into the Group Set.
Set up journal term lists so that journal titles are consistent, and allow either the abbreviated or full version of the journal title to appear in your reference list, depending upon your selected style. See the instructions from Macquarie University below to import lists into your Library.
It is very important to back up your EndNote library, as a corrupted library could negatively impact the timely completion of an essay or dissertation.
A Compressed Library is a zip file which should be held in reserve in case errors in your library can't be reversed. It is only opened if your original Library has been corrupted. Save a compressed file to several locations - for example a thumb drive or external hard drive in case your device crashes or is stolen. It is not recommended that you save Libraries (normal or compressed) to cloud-based locations such as Dropbox or iCloud. These services have been known to corrupt the code underlying the program data.
Each time you save a new Compressed Library with your latest uploads, delete the previously compressed library.
Each EndNote library consists of two parts:
It is vital that you retain both of these parts of your library and retain them in the same folder on your computer. You can reconstruct a lost EndNote library (.enl) file from the .data folder, but your organisation and attached files will be lost if you delete the .data folder.
You may also back up your library by using EndNote's File > Save a Copy. However using this function creates a full copy of your library - meaning that you would have 2 versions of it, which can create confusion as to which is the master or working library. It is therefore recommended that the Compress Library function is used for back ups.
Advice from EndNote (Clarivate):
Apple's macOS versions 10.12 (Sierra), 10.13 (High Sierra), 10.14 (Mojave), 10.15 (Catalina), 11 (Big Sur), 12 (Monterey) and 13 (Ventura) contain features to save the contents of the Desktop and Documents folders in iCloud and to "optimize" storage by storing less-used files only in iCloud online.
EndNote libraries stored in iCloud, even when existing on both the hard drive and online, are subject to corruption over time. If you choose to store your documents in iCloud, we suggest creating a separate folder in your Home folder dedicated to saving your EndNote libraries there. Do not store EndNote libraries in iCloud or any other cloud-syncing folder; do not store EndNote libraries in the Documents folder if you have selected the option to synchronize documents in iCloud.
You can find more information on these features on the Apple support site at these locations: