University Library: Law: Journal articles

Journal articles
Newspaper articles

Law Journals are an important secondary source for legal research, offering discussion on specific legal issues and case law analysis.

Older journal articles can serve as a historical record of legal developments across time, and help to explain how current legal frameworks came to be.

Consulting law journals is a fundamental step in the legal research process!

Law Journal Databases

You will find some law articles by searching FiNDit but for most of the major Australian law journals you will need to search within one of the major legal databases.

AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of abstracts and some full-text articles and book chapters for Australian and comparative legal research.
Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
Australian Legal Journals Index (ALJI) is available on Westlaw AU. It is one of the most comprehensive Australasian journal databases. Browse by topic or search legal journal abstracts, and full text articles.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Law reports, journals, commentaries and news from Australia, US and many other jurisdictions.
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of full text primary and secondary legal materials and news sources from jurisdictions around the world.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collections of historical legal materials - books, journals and primary documents. Relevant for political and legal historians.
Kluwer Arbitration This link opens in a new window
Provides full text materials for international commercial arbitrators including cases, awards, legislation, treaties and authoritative commentaries.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal and eBook collections covering subjects across the humanities, law, social sciences and science.

Other ways to find legal journal articles

FiNDit
Simple search of most library resources.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a tool that lets you browse, read and monitor the Library’s collection of scholarly ejournals from any device. Search for ejournals for your research and study using a powerful taxonomy and create your own bookshelf for future reference.
Click here to find out more: https://library.nd.edu.au/instruction/findfull/browzine

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad provides instant access to full text articles subscribed to by the library, along with open access articles found on the web.

News and Newspapers
by Anusha Jebanasam Last Updated Oct 6, 2022 413 views this year