The Craven Law Library was established in mid-1997 in the former J. & W. Bateman warehouse complex in Fremantle's historic west end. It was renamed the Craven Law Library in 2003 to commemorate the Foundation Dean of the Law School, Professor Greg Craven. The Library is located in the heart of the Law School and plays an important role in Notre Dame law students’ lives.
Most students regularly visit the Library for study, to use a computer, group work or to relax. The lower level of the Library houses the help desk, the reference collection, the secondary materials, PCs, copiers and printers, and study tables. The upper level of the Library houses the the primary materials, study desks, PCs, study carrels and two group study rooms. These study rooms, which were funded by the St. Thomas More Parish in Bateman, can be booked at the Library help desk.
Notre Dame’s law collection provides students and staff with access to all major Australian primary and secondary sources of law (as well as significant foreign sources). All resources are fully cataloged with records on Trove National Library's database. FiNDit is the principle access point to our collection: indexing our electronic and the majority of our print collection.
Electronic resources, accessible on and off campus, ensure Notre Dame law students and researchers have library resources essential for a contemporary law school.
The print collection, in excess of 30,000 volumes supports learning and teaching with current texts as well as containing strengths in historic primary materials and older monographs.
The law collection is classified according to the Moys Classification Scheme.
Legal Research Skills Training - Library staff work with academics in the School of Law to provide legal research training equipping students with skills to access online and print resources.
Law Subject Guide - the Law Subject Guide has links to Law Library collections, with specialist topic guides is designed as a starting point for users of the collection.
