University Library: Nursing: Databases

Finding Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

Databases are huge, searchable directories of journals and other scholarly publication types.

You will find peer reviewed journal articles by searching the Library's various databases - some key databases for this discipline are linked below.

Searching FiNDit is another way to research and allows you to discover all of the Library's print and electronic resources from the one place. Find FiNDit on the Library homepage.

Key Library Databases

These databases are the best sources for journal articles on Nursing. Some also index other types of resources including research reports, conference proceedings, websites, etc.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Select Images from the "More" drop down tab on the top database ribbion to search for photographs and illustrations. Please create an account to access the images.

Emcare This link opens in a new window Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education. Includes access to nearly 5 million records.

JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window An Australian resource offering Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, and Systematic Review Protocols.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the free internet platform for searching Medline published by the US National Library of Medicine.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A regularly updated collection of seven evidence-based medicine databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Informit Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Australia-focused multidisciplinary nursing and allied health collection covering addictions, mental health, indigenous peoples' health, disease prevention, public health & more.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary, global citation database covering a broad range of subject areas including the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Useful for tracking where, by whom and how often an article has been cited.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
ScienceDirect - Health Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database.
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
Supports studies associated with medicine, including the latest peer-reviewed information on clinical studies, surgical therapeutics, techniques, and treatments.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An APA database of abstracts and some linked full-text for peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Intermid This link opens in a new window
Intermid contains all content from the British Journal of Midwifery from 1996 onwards. It also exclusively includes access to its sister title, African Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed nursing content that covers primary and secondary care settings as well as specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.

User Guides

Follow these links for videos, tutorials and downloads to help you with your database searching

Ovid Medline Search Tips

Finding a specific article from a citation

Sometimes you'll have a citation but no article, such as the reading lists with suggested titles your instructor gives you, or you may find a useful citation in another source. It's easy to find out if the Library offers full text access--just use one of the tools below:

Citation - DOI Search

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
You can also try using Google Scholar. Type in the information you have, and search. Look for a "Check for full text" link in the results page to access the Library's holdings.