Databases

Permalinks

If you are linking to content from a database it is best to use a permalink (or stable link) as these are less likely to break than an standard URL. Permalinks from databases often include a pathway through our authentication service - this will prevent the user from getting stuck at a paywall or login screen. 

Permalink commands can look different across platforms, but often are represented by a chain link icon. Sometimes this is under a "share" submenu. Database help pages contain specific instructions to share records, or you can contact the library for platform-specific support.

Citation Managers

Citation managers are a useful way to keep track of articles and will often capture a link or other information you can use to quickly find and share records. See our referencing guides for more information about using citation managers and configuring output styles to correctly format links.

Leganto Reading Lists

Our Reading List guide contains information about adding database content to a Leganto reading list, including requesting access to articles we don't currently subscribe to. Adding resources to a reading list is preferable to links in Blackboard because the library is able to troubleshoot in cases of broken links or database outages. 

Adding database items to a Leganto list is generally straightforward, however there can be issues depending on how the database stores records and metadata - legal databases like Westlaw in particular can be challenging to add, so please reach out to library if you have any questions about adding content to a reading list.