Databases

Accessing Databases

Accessing databases through the library website will ensure your session is authenticated and you will have access to the full range of content the library provides.

You can find your favourite database in Library Databases, an A-Z list. You can also filter the list by subject area.
Alternatively, you can access discipline-specific databases through our Subject Guides - this is a great option if you don't know what database will be helpful and want to see a curated shortlist of helpful resources in your area of study. 

LibKey Nomad is a browser tool to ensure you are seeing everything Notre Dame provides access to while searching - without needing to search a database directly. You can access articles the library subscribes to straight from Google Scholar or a journal website instead of getting stuck at a paywall. See the link below for more information about LibKey Nomad.

Personal database accounts

Most databases allow you to create a personal user account to access features beyond the access to content your Notre Dame affiliation provides. These accounts are separate to your Notre Dame single sign on (i.e. access is not managed through Okta), so you will need to manage the accounts and passwords.  

These features can enhance your searching at any level, but many are invaluable for researchers, especially those conducting systematic or other comprehensive reviews. 

Creating a database account will generally allow you to:

• Save your search history
• Save useful search queries and combine them
• Set search alerts for new papers on your topic
• Curate reading lists

You can find out more about account features in database help guides, or contact your librarian for advice on selecting and using databases.

See the link below to see information about EBSCOhost Database personal accounts - this is an example of standard features, but this may differ depending on the publisher and platform.