University Library: News and Newspapers: News databases

Databases

NewsBank Full-Text Newspapers contains international, national, regional, and local news from across Australia and the world.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window

Titles include:

Watch the video below for some NewsBank search tips:

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Leading Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires, biographies, reference books and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
EBSCOhost Basic Searching Tutorial
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Collection of International newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.
Newswires
Real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, and Business Wire with a 30 day archive.

Ebsco Help
Use this for help with the above databases.

Selecting EBSCO databases

Select Find and eResources A-Z, from the tabs on the left menu Then select EBSCO and All EBSCO databases
Select Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre, Newspaper Source and Newswires
Deselect eBook Collection and then click Continue at the top of the screen
Enter keywords to begin search

Westlaw Classic US This link opens in a new window

Visit Thomson Reuters Westlaw Classic for Australian and international newspaper articles (e.g. The Australian, Australian Financial Review, Sydney Morning Herald, West Australian).

On the landing page of the Thomson Reuters Westlaw Classic database, click News in the right column
On the next page click International in the right column
Click on Australia & New Zealand (or choose another region)
Click on a newspaper title, or search all newspapers using the search bar at the top of page
Use Advanced Search if looking for a particular article. Article titles may differ from online versions of the newspaper - use keywords or the article author, and give a date range in the dropdown box. Then click the orange search icon

EduTV This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary video database providing access to documentaries, series and movies from various free-to-air and pay TV channels.
Informit media help guide
TVNews This link opens in a new window
Australian news and current affairs program excerpts from free-to-air networks such as ABC, SBS and Ten.

Informit - new platform overview
This video demonstrates how to search the Informit platform, including EduTV.

Westlaw Classic US This link opens in a new window
US State and Federal case law, legislation, news, legal journals and commentary.

News and Newspapers

Databases

Selecting EBSCO databases

Find & Search

Visit the Library

Contact the Library

University Quicklinks