Skip to Main Content
Notre Dame 5 Star University Logo
University Library Logo

Recommending & Requesting

Document delivery & Interlibrary loan

Eligible staff and students can request access to resources that the Notre Dame Library doesn't have in order to support their teaching, learning, and research. This service is also known as resource sharing. 

Document delivery:

Scanned copies of journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.

Interlibrary loan:

Loans of items (typically books) from other Australian libraries.

The following students and staff are eligible for this service:

  • Postgraduate and higher degree by research students
  • University staff 
  • Remote students (for more information visit our Remote Students information page)
  • Students with a Learning Access Plan (LAP)

You must also have an unencumbered Notre Dame Library account.

Remote and LAP Students - currently this process is not available to these students, please see information at the bottom of this page to read how you can submit a request. 

 

  1. In FiNDit, search for the resource that you are trying to access. If your item appears in the results list (e.g. if it's available from a library on another campus), click on the item and skip to step 4 below. 
  1. Screenshot of button with text reading didn't find what you were looking for? Click here to expand your search At the top of your results screen, go to the box that says "Click here to expand your search" and click the link - this will search for results beyond the Notre Dame Library's collection.
  1. Screenshot of button with text reading get it for me from other librariesIf the item appears in your results, click on the link that says Get it for me from other libraries.
     
TIP: If the item doesn't appear in your results, see the next section further below.
  1. Screenshot of button with text reading Please sign in to check if there are any request options - Sign in to Find itScroll down to the Get it from other locations section and sign in to FiNDit if you haven't already.
  1. Screenshot of request options for resource sharing - get a physical copy or get an article/chapterSelect your preferred delivery option and click Get It.
  1. Read any of the important information and complete any required fields and click Send.

If you have not had success finding a record using the method above, you can submit a new request using the steps below:

 

  1. Screenshot of menu with text reading Find ItemAt the top of your results page click on the link that says Still didn't find what you need? Click here to submit a request >
  1. Sign into FiNDit if you haven't already.
  1. In the form, complete the fields with as much detail as possible (e.g. book title, article title, author, etc.).
  1. Select your preferred format, and click to acknowledge the declaration. 
  1. Click Send Request.

Once you have submitted your request you will receive any further communications to your student or staff email address.


Need Assistance?

If you require further assistance or would like to request a renewal, please contact the team on your campus:
broome.library@nd.edu.au
fremantle.documentdelivery@nd.edu.au
sydney.documentdelivery@nd.edu.au

 

LAP Students - Please refer to this FAQ to submit a request:

Remote students - Please refer to this page to check your eligibility and submit a request.

Recommend a purchase

The Library welcomes book recommendations from students and staff. Contributing to the development of the collection in this way helps to ensure it meets your teaching, learning, and research needs.

If you would like to recommend a database subscription or other online resource, please see Request a database. 

All staff and students can recommend resources for the Library collection on their campus.

All Notre Dame students and staff can submit book recommendations directly through FiNDit. Follow the steps below: 

  1. In FiNDit, ​​search for the item you wish to recommend
  2. Click the option at the top of your results to expand your search
  3. Click on the title of the item and scroll down to the How to get It section
  4. If you haven't already, sign into FiNDit with your student or staff number and Notre Dame password
  5. Click on the Recommend option and complete or edit any required information before clicking Send request
(If the above option doesn't work for you, use the 'Recommend a Purchase' link at the top of your page in FiNDit to submit a manual form). 


Please contact askus@my.nd.edu.au for assistance.  

Library staff will review your recommendation and notify you of the outcome. Please note, electronic format is the preference for book purchases.

Recommend a database

The Library collaborates with staff and students to develop collections that support the University's teaching programs and research initiatives. This includes subscriptions to online databases. 

Submit requests for new database subscriptions using the online form. 

Please note: 

Requests for subscriptions to single journals are considered only in exceptional circumstances. You should contact your Liaison Librarian to discuss these requests. 

All Notre Dame staff, students and researchers can recommend new online database subscriptions. 

Request new online database subscriptions using the online form. 

You can submit a proposal for new or additional subscriptions at any time

Proposals received by 30 April will be considered for the following calendar year during the review period (ending 30 June). 

Leganto & Closed Reserve

Leganto and Closed Reserve (also known as Course Reserves) are services that facilitate student access to course reading materials.

Leganto:

Leganto is the Library's Reading List service, and is used by both Academics and Library staff to manage and process course readings through a web-based service that is integrated with the Library's management system. The service makes reading material available to students whilst helping the University meet its obligations under the Copyright Act 1968 (C'th). Leganto can be used for important readings that are either not available electronically from the Library or are only available in print. If you scan or save copyrighted material, you must use Leganto to make it available in Blackboard.

Previously the Library used a central repository in Blackboard called eReserve, however from June 2022, all scanned documents are now uploaded through Leganto by Academic Staff. 

Closed Reserve:

A restricted access collection in each campus Library for high demand books. Books can be borrowed for up to 2 hours. Overnight loan is available 2 hours before closing time - books must be returned within the first hour of opening on the following day.

Previously these books were nominated by Academic Staff through a Closed Reserve request form, however from November 2022, all high demand materials are now added through Leganto. 

Only Academic Staff can add items to a Leganto Reading List via Blackboard.

The Library has a support guide available to assist academics in creating their Leganto Reading Lists.

This guide provides step by step instructions on how to create a list and add all types of materials, including print texts. Click on the link below to visit the guide. 

Contact readinglists@nd.edu.au to follow up on the progress of requests or if you require further assistance.

Find & Search
Visit the Library
Contact the Library
University Quicklinks

Copyright © 2025 The University of Notre Dame Australia | CRICOS Provider Code: 01032F | TEQSA PRV12170 | RTO Code 0064