Once you have found literature relevant to your research question and established its authority, you may need help locating, downloading and storing the documents. This section will consider how to find books, use ebooks, find the full-text of an article, and if Notre Dame does not hold an item submit a request through document delivery (research degree students only) to obtain the item.
For physical items including books, a call number is used to locate the item on the library shelves.
Use FiNDit to search for your book. Use the “Books & ebooks” resource type limit, and the Library Location limit on the left of the screen to narrow the results to books held at your campus. Read the “Available at” information to see the call number for your location. Use that call number to locate the book on the shelf. Books are organised by Dewey, Moys, or NLM classification schemes.
If you can’t find an item on the shelf, ask staff at the service points. If the item you require is at another campus or on loan to someone else, then place a request through FiNDit for the item. The item will be delivered to you at the campus of your choice. You will receive an email when it is ready for collection.
Many library eBooks can be "borrowed" or downloaded to your mobile device, tablet or computer for a specified period of time.
Activity - Successfully access an eBook
Many library databases include a majority of articles in full text.
In the FiNDit result page look for a ‘download PDF’ link to access the PDF directly, some databases will need you to click on ‘available online’ to be taken to the database page, and then you will need to look for a full text or PDF icon to download. You will have to authenticate using your Notre Dame username and password to access full text journal articles.
Notre Dame may not have a digital or physical copy of the item you require.
As a researcher, academic staff member, research student, or remote user, you may have access to the Notre Dame Library Document Delivery Service, which sources articles, conference papers, book chapters, books, theses and other formats of documents currently unavailable in the Notre Dame Library collection.
The service provides PDF versions via email sourced from other libraries. Document Delivery also supplies books, videos and other formats of literature to postgraduate students and researchers.
It is good practice to look at other theses, and Document Delivery can help you locate these, but note:
If you need to use a resource that Notre Dame Library doesn’t hold for an extended period of time, rather than borrowing it from another library you can request the Library purchase the resource.