The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition, Notes and Bibliography (or Chicago Footnotes) is a referencing style commonly used across the Schools of Philosophy & Theology and Arts & Sciences.
Within Arts & Sciences, the style is used in the following disciplines: English Literature, History, and Theatre Studies. It may also be used in Aboriginal Studies, Politics, Social Justice, and Sociology.
Any time you use an idea or quote from another source, it should be acknowledged in a footnote, including the page number the quote or idea was retrieved from, as well as an entry in the bibliography.
The main components of Chicago Notes & Bibliography style are:
See introductory examples and explanations in the box below.
The relevant Chicago Manual of Style chapters are linked across many of the examples and notes throughout this guide so that more information can be located easily in the online manual.
1. Tracey Bretag, Handbook of Academic Integrity (New York: Springer, 2016), 3.
3. Bretag, Handbook of Academic Integrity, 5.
Bretag, Tracey. Handbook of Academic Integrity. New York: Springer, 2016.
4. Tracey Bretag, Handbook of Academic Integrity (New York: Springer, 2016), 56; Stella Cottrell, The Study Skills Handbook, 4th ed. (Basingstoke, UK: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013), 21.
6. Bretag, Handbook of Academic Integrity, 34; Cottrell, Study Skills Handbook, 26.
List citations separately, in alphabetical order.
9. Louis Zukofsky, “Sincerity and Objectification,” Poetry 37 (February 1931): 269, quoted in Bonnie Costello, Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1981), 78.
21. Zukofsky, "Sincerity and Objectification," 269, quoted in Costello, Marianne Moore, 78.
Costello, Bonnie, Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1981.
The University Library provides students with free access to EndNote and RefWorks software.
Both have the same purpose: to make the management and formatting of references more streamlined. It is worth looking at both tools to determine which one could be right for you, depending on how you like to work.
The Library recommends that undergraduate and coursework students use RefWorks, and higher degree by research students and academic staff use EndNote.