Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Notre Dame 5 Star University
University Library

 

 

 

Copyright and legal re-use

Contains information on using (and re-using) material that isn't your own, and the limits that apply to this use.

Types of work and how to use for educational purposes

The following table shows the types of work that fall under Australian Copyright Law and how to use them for educational purposes by 'user type'.
 

Click on the links within each section to find out more about that specific item/type of work.


 

TYPES OF WORK HOW TO USE FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES
  For Students For Teaching Staff For Publishing
Images, Music and Video
Images - See Artistic Work

 

 

 

Music and Sound Recordings
Includes: ARIA, APRA-AMCOS and PPCA licensed music only.

Can be copied in entirety.
Attribution required.

Can be copied in entirety.
Attribution required.
Must apply appropriate
copyright notice.

Permission required.
Usage fees may apply.
Attribution required.

Films#, Video Clips and their Sound Recordings*
Includes: Videos, Visual Images in Sound and Film.
DVDs: Permission always required.

Can be copied (or used) in entirety.
Attribution required.

Can be copied (or used) in entirety.
Attribution required.
Must apply appropriate
copyright notice.

Permission required.
Usage fees may apply.
Attribution required.

Radio and Television
Includes: Australian Pay-TV Services, and some Podcasts.

Can be copied in entirety.
Attribution required.

Can be copied in entirety.
Attribution required.
Must apply appropriate
copyright notice.

Permission required from both Copyright Owner and Moral Rights Holder.
Usage fees may apply.
Attribution required.

Print and Artistic Work

Literary or Dramatic Work
Includes: Anthologies#, Compilations, Computer Programs, Journal Articles, Book Chapters and Excerpts, Novels, Poems, Reports, Screenplays*, Song Lyrics, Choreography, Mime Pieces, and Plays.

Limits apply.
Attribution required.

Limits apply.
Attribution required.
To be submitted to
eReserve system
for compliance check.

Permission required from both Copyright Owner and Moral Rights Holder.
Usage fees may apply.
Attribution required.

Artistic Work
Includes: Architectural Plans, Buildings, Cartoons, Craft Works, Drawings, Maps, Paintings, Photographs, Plans, and Sculptures.

Can be copied in entirety.
Attribution required.

Permission required from both Copyright Owner and Moral Rights Holder.
Usage fees may apply.
Attribution required.

Includes: ALL images, but specifically images found online (e.g. Google Images, Pixabay, Flickr)

Part of the Public Domain (CC0), marked as Copyright-Free, or Out of Copyright?
Free to use (permission not required) - Can be copied in entirety - Attribution optional

Online, Licensed, and Out of Copyright Materials

Contractual Agreement Materials
Includes: Any item with a legally binding agreement as to its use, such as eBooks, and eJournals.

Limits apply.
Attribution required.

Check for licence restrictions or terms.
Limits apply.
Attribution required.
Link instead of download.

Permission required.
Check for licence restrictions or terms.
Limits apply.
Attribution required.

eBooks, eJournals & Databases
Includes: All University Library subscribed content.
See Library > eResources webpage for examples.

Limits apply.
Attribution required.

Limits apply.
Attribution required.
To be submitted to
eReserve system
for compliance check.

Permission required from both Copyright Owner and Moral Rights Holder.
Usage fees may apply.
Attribution required.

Online/Internet Material
Includes: Online music, YouTube videos, photographs/images from websites.

Limits apply.
Attribution required.

Check for licence restrictions or terms.
Limits apply.
Attribution required.
Link instead of download.

Permission required.
Limits apply.
Attribution required.

Out of Copyright Material
Generally for the life of the author, plus 70 years.

Free to use (permission not required).
Can be copied in entirety.
Attribution optional.

 

Definitions and Explanation of Terms

* Some items have a dual use as they contain more than one type of work within the individual item (e.g. screenplays and films).

# Additional terms of use may apply